Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

26/02/21

This week the year 12 students have had a lively discussion on the use of CBT to treat depression. This podcast was very effective in stimulating and enhancing our discussion https://t.co/hhgCvbCVVF

26/02/21

Congratulations to year 12 students Nahian, Rosa and Sadia for being accepted onto the competitive preparation programme

26/02/21

Students this week in Politics have been practicing the AO2 analysis skills. A great attitude shown by all.

26/02/21

It's nearly here! Hold on to your hats - World Book Day is hitting Chobham on the 4th March. Tell us who your favourite literary character is? Your favourite villain? And your all-round favourite book!

26/02/21

Chinese festive food from students in response to the Chinese New Year assembly https://t.co/fIAtKKrvbS

26/02/21

Celebrating Student Work - Our Keyworker Supervision group, totally engaged and working hard! #thechobhamway https://t.co/qNDVUixcnS

26/02/21

A poll question for ‘7 days’ What year was Lubaina Himid born? 1995 1954 1965 1865 I will reveal the answer next Friday.

26/02/21

Music fact: Did you know, In 2016, Mozart Sold More CDs than Beyoncé ?

26/02/21

Certificates are on their way to all those who entered the RS Pancake Day Competition! Well done all- your pancakes looked amazing! https://t.co/Jl70ECuYO6

26/02/21

Well done to Y12 Geographers who have been working hard to develop their extended writing skills by red penning their answers. Keep up the hard work https://t.co/asqIN34mGN

26/02/21

Mr. Whitworth’s assembly from this morning can be viewed on YouTube now https://t.co/zNPnZhsUrP . A letter will be sent to all parents and carers on Monday confirming final arrangements for return to face to face teaching.

26/02/21

this quote highlights the importance of role played by our students from Mandela House https://t.co/Rko2J7gPFA

26/02/21

- heade the advice from your Head of Year Mr welcome https://t.co/KMRA4zlEiD

26/02/21

Most Pillar Points by Year Group! Well done, Year 9 - increasing their lead on Year 8! #everypillarpointmatters

26/02/21

Facts about Chimamanda Adichie you probably didn’t know: 1. She holds a Masters degree in Creative Writing from Johns Hopkins and one in African Studies from Yale. 2. She doesn’t read any reviews of her books, good or bad, as she finds them ‘distracting’.

26/02/21

The Spanish department engaging our younger learners with the use of emojis representing the teachers! Ms Parque-Dorado and Mr Planas “having” a fun conversation about their favourite school subjects. https://t.co/Nyrt5hpqUu

26/02/21

Retweetd From STEM Learning

*Bursary-supported intensive CPD* Are you a first-time teacher of key stage 3 science? This course focuses on the key principles needed to teach science effectively through the use of stimulating practicals and demonstrations. Book your place: https://t.co/1XkFgo5KGJ https://t.co/EGcF9y9lNC

26/02/21

Head to the Chobham Magazine for access to our BLM playlist on Spotify created by staff and students https://t.co/gbi6Z69jmz

26/02/21

Retweetd From SecEd

A toolkit resource to help teachers & school staff to tackle the impact of on children’s schooling/learning has been created based on the expertise of & with support from : https://t.co/kZC9pqL6wf

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Chobham Academy provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, Governors reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s curriculum; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.

Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal, Michael Whitworth at the Academy.

Please contact his PA

Ms O Collins
E-mail: O.Collins@chobhamacademy.org.uk
Telephone: 0203 747 6063

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the Chair of Governors via the Clerk to Governors

Email: clerktogovernors@chobhamacademy.org.uk
Telephone: 0203 747 6060

Privacy Notice 

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777

Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Back to Key Information