Twitter

29/06/22

visited the Academy today and provided an opportunity for our students to develop some key skills https://t.co/uZDqQ70SZ5

29/06/22

inspired the next generation of entrepreneurs via a challenge https://t.co/vOSI7WRyrg

29/06/22

The annual academy performance is back with critical acclaim…Mr Mirza's... ‘A beautifully produced, exceptionally choreographed, and exquisitely performed take on a crowd favourite.’ 'Olivia!' is a must see! £5 tickets on the door. Get here early so as not to be disappointed 🤩

28/06/22

An useful articles shared from one of our trainees ' 5 Quick Classroom-Management Tips for Novice Teachers'. These tips were trailed, tested and proved to be very effective! https://t.co/jAfTc2B2Xh

25/06/22

Retweetd From Malcolm Drakes

Amazing finale to our conference with a performance from our pupils https://t.co/L9UmouHZFf

24/06/22

Our Prefects were tasked with awarding praise cards during our year 6 transition day- using praise to raise confidence https://t.co/SXbmJxVWmQ

24/06/22

What system do you follow when planning a new scheme of work? Our middle leaders discussed the key active ingredients and which comes first https://t.co/jTrLl42jJs

21/06/22

Our Lead Teacher for EAL led a great CPD session on the importance of seeing EAL learners and how we reflect on the challenges they face on a daily basis. Our trainees also looked at the impact of translating to home languages and modelling language. https://t.co/CDmhOCOdrt

20/06/22

Any specific concerns please contact the relevant Head of Year.

20/06/22

We will continue to provide face-to-face learning as we have done during previous strikes. We expect students to do their best to get to school in a timely manner, the vast majority of our students live within a mile of the academy.

17/06/22

Retweetd From UCL Computer Science

We are so pleased that was recognised for her dedication to at this week's . Read our full report on Meena's work with students: https://t.co/fdg8hHigDp https://t.co/GUFzqHzlGJ

14/06/22

Based on his research from Matt Bromley's 'five ways of making teacher explanations work', Mr Bale delivered a CPD on 'explaining & modelling'. He provided our trainees with some tangible strategies they could use in their practice so that all students could access the learning. https://t.co/5ZYoNCF94t

10/06/22

As an all-through school our curriculum is planned from Early Years through to Post-16. Our primary and secondary subject leads meet regularly to discuss curriculum and progression. This morning our maths leads met and discussed their curriculum. ⁦https://t.co/W6vZyou3Gr

09/06/22

Yesterday and today Year 10 students carried out fieldwork at Walton-on-the-Naze for https://t.co/ywJOSaG42R

07/06/22

Retweetd From School-Led Network

🔦 SPOTLIGHT ON FACILITATORS 🔦 Meet Graeme Eyre - our School-Led Facilitator with ! 😀 Find out more about Graeme & what makes him proud to be a Facilitator here: 🖱️ https://t.co/SkNwZo0GJy | | https://t.co/P1RmhW0QNC

07/06/22

Our Lead Practitioner Jennie Stephens led an amazing, interactive session on the use of praise as a behaviour management tool. The aim of this session was to highlight the use of effective praise, the most powerful forms and how this can promote a growth mindset. https://t.co/lFie78lgAg

06/06/22

For today's Monday we are looking at the importance of empathy using 's video of 's brilliant talk: https://t.co/DYIFiUWmc6

01/06/22

Retweetd From Holocaust Education

We are delighted to announce we have reached 200+ & alumni in England, with 23 schools successful in their 2022-23 cohort applications. Congratulations! This is an highly successful, over-subscribed programme & we could not take all quality schools who applied. RT https://t.co/5qC37y9tdT

30/05/22

Retweetd From Alice Conibere

Aah, I just saw this! It was such a great day, and that art room was amazing. None of the fusty dustiness I associate with art blocks from my school days;) Looking forward to exhibition set-up tomorrow with https://t.co/8tfWrilDBb

27/05/22

Retweetd From National Institute of Teaching

NEWS! 🚨 Delighted to announce the School-Led Development Trust has today been appointed by to lead the new National Institute of Teaching - England’s flagship teacher & leader development & research provider. We can’t wait to get started! https://t.co/cLGZxaSzu5

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Chobham Academy provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, Governors reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s curriculum; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.

Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal, Michael Whitworth at the Academy.

Please contact the Office Manager

Ms K Jessup
E-mail: K.Jessup@chobhamacademy.org.uk
Telephone: 0203 747 6101

Complaints that involve or are about the Principal should be addressed to Rebecca Elwin (PA to the CEO) via the Federation Head Office, 4th Floor Norfolk House, Wellesley Road, Croydon, CRO 1LH or email becky.elwin@harrisfederation.org.uk

Privacy Notice 

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777

Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Back to Key Information