Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

23/11/21

Taken from Teaching Walkthrus book, our teachers have been trialling out two specific techniques-Say it again better and Peer supported retrieval. Feedback from staff and students have been fantastic as these techniques aid students to produce high quality verbal responses. https://t.co/HhLRzoxMGG

22/11/21

We are looking forward to our annual BOSS day tomorrow. We have made an update to the dress code policy: Students wishing to wear Islamic dress should wear a simple and a which are not over embellished.

22/11/21

As our Year 11 and 13 students begin their mock exams we want to share 's guide on how to look after your mental health during revision and exams: https://t.co/FeOwUdkJ2h

17/11/21

One kind word can change someone's entire day . It is something we can all do everyday. When was the last time you went out of your way to be ?

15/11/21

Retweetd From Platfform4YP

There is a strong link between mental health and bullying. Young people who have experienced bullying are more likely to experience mental health issues and those who have mental health issues are more likely to be bullied. https://t.co/AWXu6sKOzr

15/11/21

An interesting podcast recently shared with out PGCE students - Dr. James Lang has six recommendations in this podcast about how we can better understand student attention and how we can get their attention while we teach. https://t.co/nXqae04FdO https://t.co/pjs02vNeR4

11/11/21

Retweetd From Tes

New SEND steering group, including the , chief and director of education Chris Russell will ensure the delayed review will be delivered 'at pace' , says https://t.co/4amhTWmumQ

11/11/21

Have you stopped to consider what you might need to quit? https://t.co/xvuKjKrJRE

09/11/21

Students learning about tilting and toppling in physics, this method of dual coding works really well as students understand the concepts through the combination of visual and verbal processing. It also improves students' retention of information. https://t.co/y0gvsVjIs3

08/11/21

Retweetd From The Mix

Reminder: Your intrusive thoughts don't get to define you. They have no grounding in who you really are. Don't let them throw you off your track.

08/11/21

Retweetd From Happiful Magazine

Books are a fantastic way to help children with anxiety and to spark conversations about mental health in general. We asked Georgina Atwell, founder of the UK’s leading children’s book review site, Toppsta, for her top recommendations of books to help📚 https://t.co/VHsozFXrtU

08/11/21

Retweetd From Anna Freud NCCF

Are you a young person aged up to 25 looking for support for your mental health? On My Mind is a website co-produced with young people, which includes advice on referrals, working with services, self-care & a directory of free services across the UK👉https://t.co/TLEL6loxsX https://t.co/Bjk872b5rq

08/11/21

Retweetd From YoungMinds

Whether you want to understand more about how you're feeling and find ways to feel better, or you want to support someone who's struggling, we can help. https://t.co/wHT83NqWEl

08/11/21

Retweetd From YoungMinds

"Please don’t put pressure on yourself if you’re struggling to express yourself through words. There are so many things that can help you overcome difficulties in your life. The words will come… give yourself time." From Elsa, a YM Activist 💛

04/11/21

book 'Now for the Good News' is full of well researched insights into what the future holds for our . Of particular interest is the chapter on . Each chapter offers a morsel of hope! https://t.co/BsQyBOvUEZ

04/11/21

book 'Now for the good news' is absolutely brilliant. We are particularly inspire by the chapter on but for anyone working in education with the whole book gives a morsel of hope! https://t.co/Ewo1CcB708

04/11/21

We will be hosting our annual BOSS day and would like your help. We are looking for willing volunteers to share their career pathway with our young people . Contact info.org.uk and the next generation

04/11/21

Is your child looking for career inspiration! Log into your account to explore university courses, apprenticeships and future pathways. We host a drop-in clinic every week in the atrium. https://t.co/qHiKv6e3Vw

02/11/21

Exit tickets are a great, simple way to check whether students have understood the lesson's objectives. Rather than using paper copies, we have used exit tickets on MS Teams. Quick, effective and saves paper, plus the students really enjoyed completing the quizzes!#teachingtips https://t.co/QvlTZq2Uum

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Chobham Academy provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, Governors reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s curriculum; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.

Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal, Michael Whitworth at the Academy.

Please contact his PA

Ms O Collins
E-mail: O.Collins@chobhamacademy.org.uk
Telephone: 0203 747 6063

Complaints that involve or are about the Principal should be addressed to Rebecca Elwin (PA to the CEO) via the Federation Head Office, 4th Floor Norfolk House, Wellesley Road, Croydon, CRO 1LH or email becky.elwin@harrisfederation.org.uk

Privacy Notice 

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777

Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Back to Key Information