Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

19/01/21

Retweetd From YoungMinds

“Your feelings are valid” “You’re not alone” “You can get through this” “You matter” “I care for you” Saying these words to someone struggling can really help. Most of the time you don't need to have all the answers. Simply being there can be enough.

19/01/21

Retweetd From YoungMinds

Services that can help you get through lockdown if you need support. https://t.co/xGn4FjlEHM

18/01/21

It is imperative that this is done before 8.30am stating: · your child’s full name · child’s tutor group · reason for absence

18/01/21

Attendance - Reporting student illness If your son/daughter is unable to take part in home learning and virtual lessons due to sickness or for medical reasons then you must contact the attendance team using the email: attendance.org.uk

18/01/21

Thought for the week: 'Your silence gives consent' (Plato)

18/01/21

Wellbeing Tip - 2020 was the year of the ✨Daily Walk✨ but 2021 is the year of the ☁️Wellness Walk☁️ Some great tips from on wellness walking. https://t.co/ErMZXsLS2Z

15/01/21

Retweetd From Harris Primary Academy Purley Way

We are pleased to share our roof terrace transformation to a roof top garden! 🌸🌼🌺🌿 Thank you to for their hard work. We can’t wait to get planting and to have the children using it every day. https://t.co/LfvQIEcNXk

15/01/21

Exciting vitrutal History lessons at Chobham this week! Ranging from the Jim Crow Laws with Year 8 to Indian independence with Year 12. Year 10 have learnt about historical interpretations of Nazi Germany using illusions! https://t.co/fStPJdzsT3

15/01/21

Retweetd From Children's Society

. has proudly signed this letter as we join and 40+ NGOs calling on the Govt to urgently review the Free School Meal policy to reform the system for the longer term. https://t.co/z4pB82P1Th

14/01/21

Check out our latest blog post on anti-racist literature by , , and on https://t.co/I8vISKKvHv

14/01/21

Retweetd From Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

We've added even more activities to our website to help keep the kids entertained at home during the lockdown! 👏 Don't forget to share a picture of their masterpiece – we love seeing them 👌 Find out more ➡️ https://t.co/BhfFRMYFgt https://t.co/cRl75ohKti

14/01/21

Retweetd From Chobham PE Dept

We’re taking it back to 2018. We have some young looking year 10 & 11 students competing at Harris Academy Sports day. Omari took Gold in the U12 100m. Elgun, Chris, Shamari & Omari took Silver in the U12 4 x 100m relay. Nathan took silver in the U13 800m. https://t.co/NbZn6TcuZJ

14/01/21

Retweetd From Chobham PE Dept

Mr Weston’s year 10 GCSE PE class have been demonstrating how virtual learning can be fun and also productive. The class were put into 4 ‘break out rooms’ with 4 different scenarios on the impact and risks of using Performance-Enhancing Drugs. https://t.co/0zjacVPJVw

13/01/21

Retweetd From Marcus Rashford MBE

Just had a good conversation with the Prime Minister. He has assured me that he is committed to correcting the issue with the food hampers and that a full review of the supply chain is taking place. He agrees that images of hampers being shared on Twitter are unacceptable.

13/01/21

Retweetd From HeadStart Newham

During the current pandemic we have all had to adapt to a lot of change that can disrupt our sleep pattern. Here are some top tips for a good night's sleep. Check out https://t.co/Glmu9Z9RRg for more tools to promote positive well-being and resilience at home. https://t.co/dZykTUOTsM

13/01/21

Retweetd From Children's Society

Everyone needs meaningful contact with others to feel safe, loved and cared for. When you don’t have this, it is normal to feel lonely. But there are things you can do to feel better. Here are some tips on dealing with and overcoming loneliness💚 https://t.co/ri75r8ppCl

13/01/21

Retweetd From Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

It's vital to keep at least 2m apart from anyone outside your household or support bubble. Thank you for helping us keep the Park as safe as possible. https://t.co/n7OUfW6XH9

13/01/21

Retweetd From GOV.UK

The new variant of Covid-19 is spreading fast. Act Like you’ve got it. Stay Home. Protect the NHS. Save Lives.

13/01/21

WELLBEING TIP: Are you experiencing difficult emotions at the moment? Education Support tips can help support you https://t.co/bSFbGwmKUM https://t.co/CcXwe1NNUa

13/01/21

have published some key tips to support students in getting enough sleep https://t.co/izLeiUvELT

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Chobham Academy provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, Governors reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s curriculum; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.

Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal, Michael Whitworth at the Academy.

Please contact his PA

Ms O Collins
E-mail: O.Collins@chobhamacademy.org.uk
Telephone: 0203 747 6063

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the Chair of Governors via the Clerk to Governors

Email: clerktogovernors@chobhamacademy.org.uk
Telephone: 0203 747 6060

Privacy Notice 

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777

Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Back to Key Information